Hello.
What?
Why yes, I know it's been a while. No, you're lazy.
Listen. Let's put aside our differences and focus on the post. For the betterment of mankind.
So, for the rabid reader that wants to get down to the very essence of what this post will be, both events were fun. There was a ton of work to do, but everybody knew what to do and we handled everything very well.
Cool Desert Nights was awesome. The few things that stood out in my mind was how cool everybody was at the event. They were more than willing to help me out when I didn't get something, and I have to say, I have the coolest boss.
Just a small fraction of the cars there.
There were hardly any incidents to speak of. Besides the almost abduction. So get this, there's a little red headed girl wandering around by herself, and someone grabs her and almost takes her. Why is this girl by herself? Both of these events really opened my eyes about people not keeping an eye on their kids, but i'll rant about that later. I promise.
The only thing I can really add about Cool Desert Nights is damn. Damn. Like 14 hours of work one day, just essentially standing and heavy lifting all day. I had 5 blisters on one foot and 2 on the other. I command our readership to feel bad for me. Yes, all 2 of you. But my boss, Dan, is the freakin' terminator. Everywhere I went, he was doing something. That dude is tough to keep up with.
River of Fire was a much easier event. Plus, I got to witness easily the best part of the day; Kirsten standing near a clown.
An epic picture of epic epicness
She has very much expressed her fear in clowns to me. In fact, when I knew a clown would be at the fair, I started my campaign. The get-kirsten-near-a-clown campaign. It was a grueling campaign, filled with "You need to face your fears" and "But think of Emily." In the end, she retained a strict amount of space from said clown. By the way, his name is BigTop, he's awesome, and he was trained by his clown mentor (clowntor?) Little Frosty. True Story.
Man, Emily was so bored during River of Fire. However, she did get to wear her pajamas. With Sandals.
Enjoy the Golf Cart. What? Oh I've been working all day. I'm fine standing, really.
OH. Ok rant time. There were 5-7 kids who could not find their parents. WHAT IS GOING ON? At one point, a 10-11 year old kid comes up to me and we had this conversation:
"How's it going?"
"Not so good. I lost my cousin."
"What does he look like?"
"He's this tall" [about 2-3ft] "And he's wearing a white shirt with a swimmer diaper."
"How's it going?"
"Not so good. I lost my cousin."
"What does he look like?"
"He's this tall" [about 2-3ft] "And he's wearing a white shirt with a swimmer diaper."
"Oh. Where are your parents?"
"They're back at the park, they said my cousin was my responsibility."
"They're back at the park, they said my cousin was my responsibility."
Man, a lot of people today just don't care about their kids. It was such an eye opening experience. Not only that, but this kid came up to me instead of the parents. COME ON. But hey, it was just their nephew so they didn't feel responsible. Oh, and we found all the kids' parents. I think.
So, onto some updates about the Sierra family.
We're moving into my parent's old house. We were extremely fortunate that my parents offered for us to stay there. We hope to save some money and this is the best way to do it. Staying in my parent's room is such an odd experience. As a kid, it was always this foreign room that I respected as...well... my parent's room. Like a sacred room of sorts. And now staying in it, i feel...weird. But man, is the view out the window lovely.
I've had a few people come up to me and say they've been reading this blog. I have to say, I'm really excited! It's fascinating to me that people would take the time out of their busy, busy day and read updates on our lives. I am so, so grateful for all of you that read this. **shameless plug** by the way, if you like what you read, follow us! Or comment, so other people can realize that this isn't a blog equivalent of a ghost town. **shameless plug over**
I think that's it. I promised a lot of pictures, and I have them. But I'm so laaaazy. Maybe, maybe if somebody comments on it asking for them I'll post them.
You hear me? ball's in your court.
PS: I've just changed the settings so that you don't have to have any particular ID or even sign in to be able to comment on the blog... so there's a little dangling carrot for all your blog trolls... -Mrs Hoot


